Patient Reviews

Our team of compassionate, board-certified gastroenterologists strives to ensure every patient receives cutting-edge treatments using the latest in research and technology, so that all patients can have a positive experience that leaves them with better digestive health. We invite you to see what other patients are saying in order to get a better idea of what it may be like to receive care at our facility. All of our client feedback is taken to heart so that we can continue crafting positive outcomes for future persons requiring our assistance. When you have made an informed decision, please contact our location in Phoenix, AZ to request your consultation for GI treatment.

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Sep 30 2022

"Dr Shaughnessy treated my special needs adult son like a regular patient. He acknowledged him and listened to him .. didn’t mind when my son got excited . He made my son feel very comfortable which made for a great 1st visit. My oldest son who came along was also impressed by Dr. S . Was very happy to see how he interacted with his brother and that he listened instead of telling us what he thought was the issue. He was also very impressed with how he treated his brother. We are very very happy with Dr. S and his office ."

5.0 Review from L.D. Source: Google Sep 29 2022

"I've been seen by Dr. Shaughnessy for over 10 years, only Dr. I have been with for that long, would highly recommend."

5.0 Review from V.D. Source: Google Sep 22 2022

"Consultation with Dr Shaughnessy was great. He explained the procedure and answered my questions."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Sep 21 2022

"Really understanding on situations of health issues"

5.0 Review from A.H. Source: Google Sep 21 2022

"He was kind, listened to everything I had to say and explained the next steps in a manner I understood. I appreciate his help in trying to figure everything out All the staff at this off is was very helpful and kind"

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google Sep 21 2022

"Dr Shaughnessy is a wonderful doctor. He is thorough and very kind, which matters a great deal. I never feel that he is rushing me. He takes my issues seriously and always does whatever is necessary to figure out what is going on. I am very grateful to him for his excellent care."

5.0 Review from G.D. Source: Google Sep 10 2022

"I'm very glad I was referred to Dr. Shaughnessy , answered my questions and my concerns about my health in his best way . His concerns about my health and helped me learn about what is best for me and how to take care of myself. I'm very thankful for Dr. Shaughnessy"

4.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Sep 10 2022

"Was greeted w/repect, from receptionist, nurse & Dr. Explain about my upcoming procedure, colonoscopy"

5.0 Review from M.F. Source: Google Jun 11 2022

"It was a night and day difference between my first GI experience with another GI, and Dr Shaughnessy. I chose Dr Shaughnessy because of all the great reviews and he looked like a nice genuine person in photo. My consultation/first visit was literally everything I was hoping for, which is a doctor who LISTENS, and not only that, he took notes! He did not rush the appointment at all, he was never rude or condescending, he answered all questions thoroughly, and was very attentive, and made me feel SO much better mentally about getting my procedure done, now I’m not nearly as scared. He took the time to talk and make sure you were heard and taken care of, it was a COMPLETELY opposite experience from my first gastroenterologist encounter. I had a couple more questions and he came back to answer those too. Everyone in the office was friendly as well, calm and chill environment, no loud and rude people. I am so pleased and so much of my anxiety is eased. Very professional, knowledgeable and competent, and is willing to do whatever it takes to help you."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google Jun 04 2022

"I have had Dr. Shuagnessy in caring for my issue s with stomach and bowels. I feel very comfortable and confident in Dr Shaugnessy opiion and disposition. I do recommend highly to those who may be in search of gasterologist speaclist"

5.0 Review from P.S. Source: Google Jun 04 2022

"Dr. Shaughnessy is awesome. Not only is he very knowledgeable about the digestive tract, he is personable and very much a partner in the health care of his patients. I appreciate that more than I can express."

5.0 Review from T.P. Source: Google May 27 2022

"He always listens to me. He is very patient and understanding. Very professional! He always explains our options with details and answers all my questions!"

5.0 Review from G.J. Source: Google Apr 28 2022

"I have been with Dr. Shaughnessy for 6yrs now. If it was not for him, I would not be here. I was so sick & he never gave up on me like some Dr.’s did. After following the insurance protocol to testing he went right to DNA testing & found what was wrong with. A lot of Dr.’s do not believe in what I have. Dr. Shaughnessy gave us the results whether he believed it or not & put me on the right path for living with this disease. I went from being bedridden for over a yr. To having a somewhat normal life. Definitely better then it was. He is amazing. When I had to have surgery he spent every lunch hour of his while he was in the hospital at my bedside every day I was in the hospital for 16 days every day he was in his lunch hour at my bedside he is amazing"

5.0 Review from L.L. Source: Google Apr 24 2022

"I just recently started going there for a complicated issue and Dr Shaughnessy and his staff go above and beyond. My issue landed outside their practice and still they continue to lead me in the right direction. Thank you so much all of you. Keep being great people"

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Apr 19 2022

"Dr.Shaughnessy is an awesome doctor. He has a good bedside manner and is extremely knowledgeable. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Feb 03 2022

"I have had an excellent experience working with Dr. Shaughnessy over the last 6 years and navigating an often challenging chronic health condition. I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone in a similar health situation."

5.0 Review from L.L. Source: Google Feb 01 2022

"From the beginning when I first called the office to schedule an appointment Delia was so friendly and very helpful answering some questions. When I arrived at the office everybody was very welcoming. Dr Shaughnessy came in with a very good attitude introduced himself and we talked and he answered all my questions. He seemed concerned. I go back in a month, I'm looking forward to seeing them all again. Yes I would recommend him to anyone that needs his specialty."

5.0 Review from S.J. Source: Google Feb 01 2022

"I have been seeing Dr. Shaughnessy IV, DO for the past 3 years. Since I've been seeing him I sleep through the night, I no longer have painful bowel movements. I can make plans and have less worry about having to leave early due to abdominal pain, diarrhea and discomfort. I am more than satisfied with Dr. Shaughnessy IV, DO. I am comfortable and confident in his agreements to how I would like to be treated for my health issues. He listens to me, my concerns and needs. I appreciate Dr. Shaughnessy IV, DO."

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google Jan 23 2022

"Dr. Shaughnessy is a top notch dr., I have nothing but respect for him & what he has done for me if not for him I would still be suffering with my crohns but because of him it is under control & I feel the best I have since I first found out I had crohns."

5.0 Review from C.F. Source: Google Nov 21 2021

"Dr. Shaughnessy is an excellent and caring physician and a lovely human being. I came to him with a complex problem, and he kept looking for answers when other doctors had given up. I am so grateful to him for his kindness and support during a very difficult time. Even after I move away next year, I’ll come back to Phoenix to continue my GI care with him."

4.0 Review from R.J. Source: Google Nov 17 2021

"Good listener. Calming. Not pushy at all."

5.0 Review from K.G. Source: Google Nov 14 2021

"Very informative. Quality care. Great staff."

5.0 Review from K. Source: Google Sep 24 2021

"Dr. Shaughnessy and staff provide excellent care. Time was taken to hear my concerns. Everything was timely. Questions have been answered and on going communication through the office by phone and online on the patient portal are great. The Dr. shook my hand when he met me…that meant a lot to me. I want to feel safe and cared for and I want to feel like I can trust my Dr and those that work with him to help me. This is the beginning….but so far so good."

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google Aug 25 2021

"Dr. Shaughnessy a very professional kind - A doctor that listens to you and that really helps you. Thank you so much for helping me finding the problem that caused me a lot of pain for the last few years. I can only Thank you so much. Also I wanna thank you for sending me to Dr Calcote , I am back feeling like a human being not going through the suffering which I used to go every day for the last few years. Thank you so much!!!!! Thank you!!! Oh by the way your staff is amazing."

5.0 Review from G.A. Source: Google Jul 27 2021

"This is the greatest and nicest doctor’s I have been to. I went to two other doctors and finally found someone that made me feel right at home, took the time to answer all my questions and did not rush me out of his office for another patient. Most importantly, your lucky if you get to be his patient, as I am."

5.0 Review from F. Source: Google Jul 22 2021

"Very professional and through. Took time to listen to all I had to say and had some good ideas on how to help me. Staff was professional and very nice. Dr. Shaughnessy was very easy to talk to and understand. Thanks for a pleasent and professional experience during this time."

5.0 Review from L.R. Source: Google Jul 16 2021

"Dr. Shaughnessy is a wonderful person and a Great professional doctor. He listens to you as you explain how you feel."

5.0 Review from Y.I. Source: Google Jun 19 2021

"I highly recommend. Very professional, he listens to your needs and care about you as an individual."

5.0 Review from S.A. Source: Google Jun 19 2021

"I have been with Dr. Shaughnessy for years and he has always been great. He takes his time during each visit and he actually cares. It's always a pleasure."

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google Jun 12 2021

"I have been a crohn’s sufferer for 33 years. Retired eight years ago in the area and started seeing Dr Shaughnessy soon after. He listens, is thorough and caring. I am without symptoms and have not been this healthy in the three decades of this experience. Thanks Doc."

5.0 Review from P.L. Source: Google Jun 11 2021

"My mother and myself have been seen by Dr. Richard P. Shaughnessy for many years. He is very thorough, patient, confident, trusting and efficient in his care as a doctor. I value Dr. Shaughnessy as a doctor very much."

5.0 Review from D.R. Source: Google Jun 11 2021

"Complete professional and empathetic. Highly recommend Dr. Shaughnessy"

5.0 Review from V.T. Source: Google Jun 11 2021

"I highly recommend Dr. Shaughnessey. I came to him with an extensive health history of GI issues, a myriad of diagnoses, and a body still not feeling as it should. He listened to me explain how I felt both emotionally and physically, and he had clearly read my file before my arrival. He did a wonderful job explaining how the colon works—how MY colon works (or doesn’t), and laid out some options to try. After trying one option for a month, he called me at home to see how I was doing and was happy to change my treatment when the first hadn’t had much effect. I feel very supported by Dr. Shaunessey and feel he is interested in my case and seeing me feel my best!"

5.0 Review from N.Q. Source: Google Jan 09 2019

"Like very much Dr, Richard Shaughnessey, very personable, talk your language, for me it has to be very simple and knows his trade."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Dec 23 2018

"He is a dedicated doctor who is personable and committed to diagnosis, treatment, and recovery. I cannot say enough about how wonderful Dr. Shaughnessy as both a doctor and human being. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for treating my partner. We were very fortunate to find you. Cheers!"

5.0 Review from C.T. Source: Google Sep 22 2018

"He's great and I appreciate him... Blessings to you"

5.0 Review from P.O. Source: Google Apr 22 2016

"Dr. Shaughnessy is a very great person. I would recommend him to anyone. He so concern about your health."